Picto Lachaize
OUR PROJECT

A 5-STAR PROJECT

A two-fold project.

On the one hand, restore the former splendor of the estate by renovating all the buildings. This renovation project is directed by Didier Repellin, architect-in-chief for historical French buildings, internationally known for his restoration of the Villa Médicis between 1995 and 2013 and the current renovation of the Hôtel Dieu in Lyon.

On the other hand, implement an ambitious, demanding environmental approach to the entire wine estate so that the estate becomes the model for viticulture that is perfectly integrated into its terroir and totally environmentally-friendly.

Picto Lachaize
OUR PROJECT

AN AMBITIOUS ECOLOGICAL APPROACH

For reasons that are both ethical and ecological, Domaine du Château de La Chaize has embarked upon an unprecedented energy and environmental transition.

Four objectives have been set to successfully guide this project:

  • Convert the entire estate to organic grape production,
  • Be self-sufficient in terms of electricity and heating,
  • Use vehicles, equipment and work implements that use only electrical energy,
  • Recover and reuse every byproduct from the grape-growing and wine-making activities with the ultimate goal of Zero Waste.

 

Hand work is preferred
Picto Lachaize
OUR PROJECT

ONE WITH THE ENVIRONMENT

Creatively use every type of natural resource, produce no waste that cannot be recycled, use only non-polluting renewable energies and in particular energy produced by resources from the estate itself, these are the hard and fast guidelines moving the transformation project forward. Just as nature does, Château de La Chaize seeks to create virtuous circles and make all its activities nature-centric.

More so than simply gaining a label, Château de La Chaize seeks to be exemplary, and bases all its choices and decisions on this quest for excellence.

Working with nature and the provisions it so generously gives will magnify the production of these vineyards. The subsoils have been analyzed by the team working with Lydia and Claude Bourguignon. Climates have been identified for each of the locations and exposures of the parcels, and upcoming vinifications will bring out the best in the natural dispositions of each parcel.

Ground analysis have been made by Emmanuel Bourguignon
Picto Lachaize
OUR PROJECT

INNOVATION ROOTED IN THE PAST!

This does not mean that modern technology has been banned from Domaine du Château de la Chaize. Quite the contrary. Modern technology has enabled the finest analyses of soil composition, identification and characterization of the different climates present throughout the estate. Technology will also be used in barrel fermentation in the cellar to ensure ideal conditions for vinification and maturing of each cuvee, at all times.

However, innovation will also consist in going back to the sources of grape production. Soil improvement will exclusively use natural resources, whether they be mineral, plant or animal resources.

The different lands around the vineyards themselves will be called upon to grow the plants whose fermentation will provide different types of humus to seed the composts for each soil type and each parcel type. Total respect for and optimization of the biology of our terroirs.

Back to controlled grass cover and mulching, combined with inputs of organic matter based on soil composition – to allow for better control of soil surface moisture, better adaptation to drought episodes, greater inertia to nutritional deficits and better erosion resistance. Diversity, the wealth of all the mineral, plant and animal species present on the vast estate, is the driving force behind intense biological surface activity that will push natural deterioration of any pollutants.

Picto Lachaize
OUR PROJECT

EMBLEMATIC GRAPE PRODUCTION

This is the beginning of a far-reaching undertaking. Transforming an estate of this scope to an organic vineyard does not happen overnight. It cannot be dictated from on high, nor improvised. A ten-year calendar has been defined for the transformation and reorganization of the vines to reach the level set by the Gruy family and the teams working on the estate.

Château de la Chaize has everything it needs to become an international symbol. Passion, determination and the resources devoted by the Gruy family are sure indicators of present and future success

Français
English

Picto Lachaize
NOTRE PROJET

Un projet 5 étoiles

Le projet est double.

D’une part redonner à ce domaine tout son faste d’antan, avec une restauration de l’ensemble des bâtiments sous la direction de Didier Repellin, architecte en chef des bâtiments historiques à la renommée internationale qui a notamment à son actif la restauration de la Villa Médicis entre 1995 et 2013 et celle de l’Hôtel Dieu actuellement en cours à Lyon.

D’autre part, transformer l’ensemble du domaine viticole en l’inscrivant dans une démarche environnementale ambitieuse et exigeante afin d’en faire un modèle et un emblème d’une viticulture parfaitement intégrée dans son terroir et totalement respectueuse de son environnement.

Picto Lachaize
NOTRE PROJET

Une démarche écologique ambitieuse

Pour des raisons éthiques et écologiques, le Domaine du Château de La Chaize va s'inscrire dans une transition énergétique et environnementale sans précédent.

Quatre objectifs ont été déterminés afin de mener à bien ce projet :

  • convertir l'ensemble du vignoble en viticulture biologique,
  • être autonome en énergie électrique et thermique,
  • utiliser des engins, véhicules et matériels ne fonctionnant qu'à l'énergie électrique,
  • valoriser chaque sous-produit de l'activité viti-vinicole dans une dynamique du "0 déchet".

 

Le travail à la main est privilégié
Picto Lachaize
NOTRE PROJET

se fondre dans l'environnement

Valoriser toutes les ressources naturelles, ne produire aucun déchet qui ne soit recyclé, utiliser exclusivement des énergies renouvelables non polluantes, notamment celles fournies par les ressources du domaine, sont les lignes directrices inamovibles qui encadrent le projet de transformation. A l’image de la nature, le château de La Chaize veut créer des cercles vertueux et mettre la nature au coeur de ses activités.

Plus que la recherche d’un label, c’est une quête d’exemplarité qui préside à tous les choix et toutes les décisions.

Une conduite du vignoble, en harmonie avec les éléments qui l'entourent, va permettre de magnifier les raisins, puis les vins, dont ils sont issus. Les sous-sols ont été analysés par l’équipe de Lydia et Claude Bourguignon, les climats identifiés selon les emplacements et les expositions des parcelles et les vinifications à venir tireront le meilleur parti de la disposition naturelle de chaque parcelle.

Les analyses des sols ont été réalisées par Emmanuel Bourguignon
Picto Lachaize
NOTRE PROJET

l’innovation vient aussi du passé !

La technologie moderne n’est pas, pour autant, bannie désormais au Domaine du Château de la Chaize, bien au contraire. Elle a permis de faire les analyses les plus poussées de la constitution des sols, d’identifier et de qualifier les différents climats présents sur l’ensemble du domaine. Elle permettra également au cuvage et à la cave de garantir en permanence les conditions idéales pour la vinification et l’élevage de chaque cuvée.

Mais l’innovation va également consister à revenir aux sources de la viticulture. L’amélioration des sols se fera exclusivement à partir de ressources naturelles, qu’elles soient minérales, végétales ou animales.

Le retour à un enherbement maîtrisé et au paillage allié à des apports de matières organiques selon la composition des sols va permettre une meilleure gestion du taux d’humidité en surface des sols, une meilleure adaptation aux périodes de sécheresse, une plus grande inertie aux carences nutritionnelles ainsi qu’une résistance accrue à l’érosion. La diversité et la richesse de toutes les espèces minérales, végétales et animales présentes sur l’ensemble du domaine va générer une intense activité biologique en surface qui contribuera à une importante dégradation naturelle des éventuels polluants.

Picto Lachaize
NOTRE PROJET

Un vignoble à faire connaître et reconnaître

C’est le début d’une entreprise de grande ampleur. La mutation d’un tel domaine vers le Bio ne s’improvise pas, pas plus qu’il ne se décrète. La transformation et la restructuration des vignes va prendre plus de 10 ans pour atteindre le niveau visé par les femmes et les hommes qui travaillent sur l’exploitation.

Le Château de la Chaize a tous les atouts pour devenir un emblème international. La passion, la détermination et les moyens mis en oeuvre par la famille Gruy sont les gages de la réussite.

Français
English